Diamonds Allocated Place in Southern Football League

At the meeting of the FA Leagues Committee the decision was made to place AFC Rushden & Diamonds in the Southern Football League Division One Central.

This Step 4 league is sponsored by leading adhesives and sealants provider Bostik, who agreed a two year deal to sponsor The Southern Football League in October 2014, furthering its support of grassroots football through its well-known brand Evo-Stik, with the league now known as the Evo-Stik League Southern – so in the Diamonds case they will be playing in the Evo-Stik League Southern Division One Central during the 2015/16 season.

The FA decision is subject to ratification by the leagues concerned at their Annual General Meeting, which in the case of the Southern Football League is in June

Other newcomers to this league include Kings Langley FC who were promoted as champions of the Spartan South Midlands Premier Division, and Flackwell Heath, the Hellenic League Premier Division Champions.

The full list of clubs allocated places in this league are as follows:

AFC Rushden & Diamonds
Arlesey Town
Aylesbury United
Barton Rovers
Beaconsfield SYCOB
Bedford Town
Chalfont St Peter
Egham Town
Flackwell Heath
Godalming Town
Hanwell Town
Kings Langley
Leighton Town
North Greenford United
Potters Bar Town
Royston Town
St Ives Town

 You can see a map showing the location of the various teams, as well as links to their websites and other information about each club here.

AFC R&D fans who recall the formation of Rushden & Diamonds FC will note that it was in the Southern League Midland Division that the merged club began – although the structure of the league pyramid was somewhat different in those days – see here for details.