Diamonds Playing Squad – taking Shape for 2013/14

As we move into August, the AFC Rushden & Diamonds squad is approaching readiness for the forthcoming campaign.

As well as the four new signings announced prior to the start of the pre-season campaign – Russ Dunkley, Nat Liburd, Fazel Koriya and Dan Grainger – Jamal Clarke and Robbie Maddox have also joined the club after impressing during the preseason period. They have joined many of last season’s squad who have confirmed their place in the squad for next season by signing the appropriate forms. Another “new” face to the first team squad is Mason Thomas, who was with the Diamonds U18 squad in 2011-12 and who had UCL Premier experience with Irchester United prior to his arrival at the club. Following the completion of the pre-season campaign, Liam Bond, Ashley Meeks and Zach Farden have all been registered with the UCL for the senior side.

The 29 players who are signed to date are:-

  • Tom Cross
  • Quincy Shorunmu
  • Ashley Foulger
  • Sam Brown*
  • Joe Merrill*
  • Ashley Meeks
  • Liam Bond
  • Jake Gillingwater
  • Alex Deakin
  • Jamal Clarke**
  • Arron Parkinson
  • Zach Farden
  • Mason Thomas
  • Brad Harris
  • Séan McBride
  • Aaron King
  • Dan Grainger**
  • Elliot Dent
  • Nat Liburd**
  • Louis Smith
  • Robbie Maddox**
  • Matt Gearing
  • Lance Allen
  • Jack Wisniewski
  • Ben Morgan
  • Alfie Taylor*
  • Russ Dunkley**
  • Fazel Koriya**
  • Jake Reynolds

 (Notes *=existing contract, **=new signing)

A number of players are not expected to be at the club next season, including Jake Newman who has stepped up to the Southern League with Kettering Town. Others who are moving on include Deven Ellwood, Matt Brady, Jamie  O’Grady, George Cox and Jamie Gilsenan. The club would like to thank all the players who played a part in our first season.

The AFC Rushden & Diamonds Squad Profiles on this website have been refined during the close season, and there is also a single document containing player profiles here.