Diamonds’ Southern League Place Confirmed

The Southern League Annual General Meeting was held at the weekend, with the Diamonds place being confirmed as expected. At the same meeting an agreement between the league and its sponsors was announced, renaming the Division One Central as the EVO-STIK South East next season, ahead of league restructuring for the following season.

You can read about these changes on the League Website here.

The 22 teams in the EVO-STIK South East are as follows

  • AFC Dunstable
  • AFC Rushden & Diamonds
  • Arlesey Town
  • Ashford Town (Middlesex)
  • Aylesbury
  • Aylesbury United
  • Barton Rovers
  • Beaconsfield Town
  • Bedford Town
  • Cambridge City
  • Chalfont St. Peter
  • Egham Town
  • Fleet Town
  • Hanwell Town
  • Hartley Wintney
  • Hayes & Yeading United
  • Kempston Rovers
  • Marlow
  • Moneyfields
  • Northwood
  • Thame United
  • Uxbridge


A directory of the clubs in the division has been updated and published on the Diamonds Website, with links to their websites and details of ground names / nicknames etc. There is also a map of the teams concerned as well as links to their location via their postcodes, with details of the travel distances.

You can find these details by following this link.

There is quite a different look to the Division since the Diamonds last played here. AFC Dunstable, Kempston Rovers, Marlow and Ashford Town joined the league last season. Hartley Wintney, Moneyfields and Thame United won promotion to join the league this season, whilst Hayes and Yeading and Cambridge City drop down to this level. Other changes include Beaconsfield Town taking on their new name, and Aylesbury United moving to groundshare at Chesham United. Diamonds fans may already have visited Thame United’s ground when Aylesbury United played there, and the Diamonds have also previously played at the grounds of Kempston Rovers and AFC Dunstable in other competitions.

You can see the league table from last season here.

The League Fixtures are due to be released at 9am on Thursday 13th July, with the season starting on Saturday 12th August, running until Saturday 28th April 2018. Play off semi-finals will be on Wednesday 2nd May, with the final on Monday 7th May.

The FA Cup fixtures are usually announced in early July. The Diamonds will enter the Emirates FA Cup at the Preliminary Round stage, with that round due on the weekend of 19th August 2017 – see here for details of round dates.
The Diamonds will enter the Buildbase FA Trophy at the Preliminary Round stage, with that round due on the weekend of 7th October 2017 – see here for details of round dates.

AFC Rushden & Diamonds

One Fan, One Vote, One Community, One Club