New Club Chairs announced

AFC Rushden & Diamonds are pleased to announce that Matt Ward and Chris McCormack will take on the role of joint Chair for the 2022-23 season.

Matt has served on the board as treasurer since the Club’s formation in 2011, and will fulfil both roles. Chris joined the board as a co-opted Board member in 2021, and brings a fresh new approach to the club and as well as a wealth of business experience.

The two will work side by side, with the wider Board, to develop the club and seek to re-engage with fans, members and other stakeholders as we move into the club’s next chapter.

Of their appointment, Matt commented “It’s important that we recognise and appreciate the hard work over the recent years of both Ralph Burditt and Andy Peaks and everyone who supported them during their long service at the club. We look forward to working with Andy Burgess and the new team as part of the transition.”

Chris said, “It has been an absolute pleasure working with the Board over the last 12 months and getting to know the mechanics of the football club. The joint role will enable the introduction of some new ideas and methods of working which will help take the club further forward’.

The process to find a suitable new Chair for the club began in earnest many months ago. As you would expect, the application pool was quite large and it has taken longer for the board to filter down than originally expected.

The role of becoming only the second Chair in the history of our football club has demanded a rigorous process, which we have yet to conclude. Every effort is being afforded to ensure that the right choice in terms of personality, capability and availability to take the club forward is made.

Having Matt and Chris at the helm forms a perfect transition and we hope you will join us in offering them our full support throughout the coming season.

The full Board currently consists of:

Matt Ward

David Kalicki (co-opted)

Chris McCormack (co-opted)

Dave Bland

Stacey Hawkins

Roger Paterson

John Gregory

Scott Stapley

Richard Maxwell